Who won the Golden Boot at the World Cup? – Football World

Who won the Golden Boot at the World Cup?

The Golden Boot Award is given to the best goalscorer at the FIFA World Cup at the end of the tournament. FIFA began giving this award officially from the 1982 World Cup. Until 2006, it was called Golden Shoe. It is known as the Golden Boot since 2010.

In previous editions, the second and third top scorers received silver and bronze medals along with gold medals. Argentina’s Guillermo Stabile scored eight goals in the first-ever World Cup in 1930 and became the first footballer to win the Golden Shoe Award.

In the 1958 World Cup in Sweden, France’s Just Fontaine won the award with 13 goals, the most ever scored by a player in a World Cup. No player has ever won the award more than once. But Five Brazilians made the list, the most for any country.

The trophy, which weighs about one kg, is gold-plated. List of players who have won the Golden Boot so far—

Uruguay World Cup 1930: Guillermo Stábile, Argentina, 8 goals
WC in Italy 1934: Oldrich Nejedly, Czechoslovakia, 5 goals
1938, France WC: Leônidas, Brazil, 7 goals
1950, Brazil WC: Ademir, Brazil, 8 goals
1954, Switzerland WC: Sándor Kocsis, Hungary, 11 goals
1958, Swedish WC: Just Fontaine, France, 13 goals
1962, Chile World Cup: Flórián Albert (Hungary), Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Russia), Garrincha & Vavá (Brazil), Dražan Jerković (Yugoslavia Croatia), Leonel Sánchez (Chile), 4 goals
1966, England WC: Eusébio, Portugal, 9 goals
1970, Mexico World Cup: Gerd Müller, Germany, 10 goals
1974, WC in West Germany: Grzegorz Lato, Poland, 7 goals
1978, Argentina WC: Mario Kempes, Argentina, 6 goals
1982, WC in Spain: Paolo Rossi, Italy, 6 goals
1986, Mexico WC: Gary Lineker, England, 6 goals
1990, Italian WC: Salvatore Schillaci, Italy, 6 goals
1994, USA WC: Oleg Salenko (Russia), Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria), 6 goals
1998, France WC: Davor Šuker, Croatia, 6 goals
2002, South Korea/Japan WC: Ronaldo, Brazil, 8 goals
2006, Germany WC: Miroslav Klose, Germany, 5 goals
2010, South Africa WC: Thomas Müller, Germany, 5 goals
2014, Brazil WC: James Rodriguez, Colombia, 6 goals
2018, Russia World Cup: Harry Kane, England, 6 goals